Soprano solo, SATB chorus, and orchestra (2002)

3 - pic - 2 - ca - 3 - bcl - 3(cbn) 4 - 3 - 3 - btbn - 1 timp - 4perc 2hp cel - pno chor str


Commissioned by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

First Performance: 2004, Chicago, IL, Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chorus - Conductor: Daniel Barenboim


For all its large forces, apókryphos was a surprisingly tender, intimate work...Rands' vocal lines had great lyrical flow...this is a masterful work, one whose images and sounds linger in the mind.
— Chicago Tribune

This often powerfully dramatic music nevertheless pierces the heart with a dark, disturbing intimacy...the precise and lively instrumental craftsmanship, highly personal lyricism and vivid intensity of expression that mark the best of Rands' mature works are fully evident in apókryphos...the emotional tension that builds to the uneasy consolation of the final section is overwhelming.
— Chicago Sun Times

Return to Works | Return to Orchestra Works